• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Best type of pre-amp for valve/tube power amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everybody. Please excuse me if I get some of the terminology and assumptions wrong. I am very new to all of this and have already made one faux pas on another thread (I don't think I made a very good impression at all because everything went very quiet).

I've just bought a Velleman K4040 power amp which I am awaiting delivery. I was hoping to run it direct from my Marantz CD6000OSE cd player but have been told that it might not deliver as much power as it would through a pre-amp.

I don't need enormous amounts of power anyway but am more concerned with getting the best quality reproduction that I can. The speakers are Kef UniQ 80 floorstanders - a 2 way design from the mid 80's which lacks a bit of bass if anything.

My questions are:
  • What type of pre-amp would you recommend solid state or tube?
  • If I went for ss would it compromise the valve amp characteristics?
  • Would it be possible/ desireable to use a sub woofer to beef up the bass slightly? Or, should I be looking a buying 3 way speakers instead?
I listen to quite a range of stuff - modern, pop, lots of classical etc. As an example, double basses in orchestral works tend to be quite 'blurry/washed out and indistinct' if that makes sense. The higher register instruments are distinquishable from the others when say,the emphasis is on the woodwinds, or on the horns etc.

Any ideas gratefully received.

Thanks,
Les G

The best sounding and lowest distortion preamp is a length of wire. It has a gain of 1.0 and zero THD. Hard to beat those specs.