• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Scott 299D Calibration

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey there.
I just completed the recapping of a Scott 299D amp and now I need advice to have it tweaked to the best sounding and reliable condition.
I've read several threads on this site and others which detail various procedures and mods, but since I'm rather new to tube audio, most of it was over my head. (I'm a microcircuit designer by trade)

I have the original service manual and they detail basic and advanced alignment procedures. The advanced procedures call for some unfamiliar test equipment such as an attenuator, a vtvm and a 400hz null filter.
Do I really need this stuff and if so, where can I get them and how do I use them?

If you're interested, I installed Russian K40Y and K42Y PIO caps in the audio paths. Bypassing the 'lytic cans, I put in all new electrolytics under the chassis, with the exception of the 4 massive 30uF/500v caps which went behind the front controls. The selenium rectifier was replaced with a solid state bridge. I tested all the tubes on an Eico 667 and replaced any weak or bad ones.
I Deox'd the switches and pots, alcohol cleaned the tube sockets, buffed the chassis, polished the front panel and repainted the transformers. Now it looks like new again. (pics on request)

I slowly powered it up on a variac and heard a motorboated hum on the left channel, but the right channel was pure and clean.

I'll not power it up again without your sage advice.
Thanks in advance!