Thorsten's tube Stage for TDA1541A - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th October 2011, 03:05 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Thorsten's tube Stage for TDA1541A

Hi:

I am planning to build TDA1541 based DAC using boards from a diyaudio member and I/V & Tube stage as posted by Thorsten Loesch in 2005 (see attached image).

I am just a beginner thus need some help. Here are two questions,

1) What changes I have to do in this Thorsten circuit if I want to try 6H30 instead of ECC88? Apart from heater current requirement, ECC88 has amplification factor of 33 and 6H30 has 15/16. Please guide in detail about the changes in circuit.

2) Is this the last version by Thorsten or is there any upgraded version? I mean this is from 2005, any 2011 version?

Regards
Attached Images
File Type: gif Thorsten Loesch-2005.gif (7.2 KB, 1913 views)
Old 5th October 2011, 03:29 AM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Just curious- since excellent ECC88 are easily available and the design for that tube has been worked out, why not start with the original circuit, get it working, then start experimenting once you understand its strong and weak points?
Old 5th October 2011, 06:04 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by new2hifi View Post
Please guide in detail about the changes in circuit.

Not much you can do about the drop in gain. Fixed bias will only have a minor effect. An active preamp may be essential.
Old 5th October 2011, 08:29 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by analog_sa View Post
Not much you can do about the drop in gain. Fixed bias will only have a minor effect. An active preamp may be essential.