• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Thorsten's tube Stage for TDA1541A

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi:

I am planning to build TDA1541 based DAC using boards from a diyaudio member and I/V & Tube stage as posted by Thorsten Loesch in 2005 (see attached image).

I am just a beginner thus need some help. Here are two questions,

1) What changes I have to do in this Thorsten circuit if I want to try 6H30 instead of ECC88? :confused: Apart from heater current requirement, ECC88 has amplification factor of 33 and 6H30 has 15/16. Please guide in detail about the changes in circuit.

2) Is this the last version by Thorsten or is there any upgraded version? I mean this is from 2005, any 2011 version? ;)

Regards

Attachments

• Thorsten Loesch-2005.gif
    Thorsten Loesch-2005.gif
    7.2 KB · Views: 3,801
Just curious- since excellent ECC88 are easily available and the design for that tube has been worked out, why not start with the original circuit, get it working, then start experimenting once you understand its strong and weak points?
Thanks, Sy. What you are purposing is my probable plan. However, I want to learn some without experimenting:D. When you fine people have established some facts/opinions by hard work, I don't want to establish them again. I am beginner (but have been reading tubes), this circuit is simple, thus from your replies I'll learn.

Not much you can do about the drop in gain. Fixed bias will only have a minor effect. An active preamp may be essential.
analog_sa, thank you. can you please explain what changes you expect due to fixed bias but change to different tube, 6H30, in this circuit?

Wouldn't a cap across Rk help improve gian?