• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Passive Preamp Mod help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I'm thinking about making a mod to my passive preamp... I’m not an engineer and wanted to bounce my idea off of the group. My passive drives a tube amp and the problem I’m having is something I think tube amp people may have seen and can relate to so I put this question on this forum. I appreciate any time in talking on this topic all.

Background.
I have a home built passive preamp. This passive pre has a 100 K attenuator and it is routed to a pair of outputs. I built the passive so I could connect my tube amp and a sub woofer powered by a plate amp. If I have just the tube amp connected the sound is great and the unit works well. If I am running the system with just the tube amp and then connect to the passive on the 2nd set of the sub woofer the subwoofer sort of sucks the life out of the tube amp. Things sound fine but the volumn level on the tube amps drops a decent amount. I have a second tube amp that I’ve tested with.. If I connect the 2nd tube amp the issue I described with the plate amp of the sub is not happening

Issue –
I think the impedance of the tube amp and the plate amp on the subwoofer is the issue. I think the volts of the signal from the passive pre get sucked into the subwoofer where the volts can flow less restricted.

Possible cheap fix –