Need a little help with a power supply I designed. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th July 2011, 06:34 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Need a little help with a power supply I designed.

I have been playing around with tubes for a few years but I have always used published designs. This time around I am trying to design a power supply for various 12A_7 preamps that I plan to build.

Here is the power supply:

Click the image to open in full size.

The B+ is a little higher than I would like. I thought the voltage doubler was going to double the AC voltage but it appears that it has actually doubled the rectified voltage (I must have missed that when I was reading about voltage multipliers). I bread-boarded a common cathode stage last night to test it out. It seems to work fine but I am trying to think of ways to lower it 70-100 volts. The 12A_7 tube data sheets all seem to have a max plate voltage around 300V. I'm not sure if the max voltage is measured after the plate resistor or not. If my B+ is safe for these tubes then I won't worry about it.

The winding for the heaters is supposed to be 12.6V/ 300mA. What scares me is that it is actually putting out almost 16 volts! The tube worked fine last night but I'm worried about long term stability. I tried rectifying it and then using a regulator but there wasn't enough current left to power the heaters.

I plan on putting trimmers on the heater windings and adjusting down to 12.6V. Is there a better way to do this?

Thanks for reading! Any advise or criticism will be greatly appreciated.
Old 25th July 2011, 06:49 PM   #2
M Gregg is offline M Gregg  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member