• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

soft start power supply for dynaco st-70

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I would like to know the best way to impliment a soft start b+ hv power supply. I do know about turning on my filament supply first then my high voltage. Is this good enough to prevent plate stripping. Does the filament supply need to ramp up slowly also? I read about using a thermister but I am not sure how to impliment them. Also the use of a 555 timer IC which I am also not sure how to impliment. I do not have room for the use of a rectifier tube. Could someone provide some information regarding this issue. I have been using solid state rectifiers on my amp for many years.

There is soft-start, then there is simple delay. I have not found any need for soft starting B+ when you apply filament voltage first.

This is one way to do it. My first version used a dual timer, where a large resistor was installed in series with the secondary center tap, for soft starting. Second timer shorted this resistor out for final operation. It provided no benefit, and I just got rid of it and went with straight delay.

Reason I like the delay method is it controls the magnitude of B+ when you have it loaded down. Most of my designs are light with the first cap, heavy towards choke input, so B+ can rise quite high without warm plates.

Attachments

• ST70schematic.pdf
    31.7 KB · Views: 702
I would like to know the best way to impliment a soft start b+ hv power supply. I do know about turning on my filament supply first then my high voltage. Is this good enough to prevent plate stripping..