Noob looking for some advice - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th June 2011, 09:45 PM   #1
MrBurd is offline MrBurd  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Noob looking for some advice

Long time lurker that's starting the journey into the sweet tube world with a Tetra phono pre kit from tubecad. Having heard a buddy's tube gear I have the bug. I'm looking into power amp options now, and am a little overwhelmed with the sheer volume of choices. Being a researcher I've come across this 2A3 PP Push-Pull Tube Amplifier 15W Kit (Stereo)_Power Amplifier Kit_Tube Amplifier Kit_Analog Metric Limited - DIY Audio Kit. Does anybody have experience, or opinion on this circuit? My speakers are 96/db, so I don't need a ton of power, but I do like to try to rattle the neighbors windows on occasion.

Any thoughts, ramblings, advice, scolding is welcome.
Old 17th June 2011, 06:19 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

No choke, no leica! :P

Classic (linear) power supplies for tube amps are working much better with at least one choke. They make your gear look cooler, too. Here, on this particular kit, they omitted it, possibly because 2A3's cost more...
Old 17th June 2011, 06:42 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

I see. Thanks for the reply. Being that this would be my first power amp build I'd like to go with a known circuit that has a good following, for the sake of help. Would you happen to have a suggestion?

Thanks again,

Matt
Old 17th June 2011, 09:37 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBurd View Post