Diodes to tube - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th May 2011, 09:38 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Diodes to tube

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here @ DIY so please bear with me.

My question is this: I have recently built the 16LS kit from S-5 Electronics and I would like to switch the bridge rectifier chip for the B+ with a rectifier tube (5u4GB maybe?). Has anyone done this or does anyone have a good schematic to do this? Could I use a separate trans. for the 5U4's heater?
Old 28th May 2011, 10:53 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Well if your amp does use a bridge rectifier then you would need a full wave rectifier tube like the 5u4 plus another set of diodes to complete the bridge. It could be a hybrid bridge of diodes and a tube or even four separate rectifier tubes, like tv damper diodes.

If you could provide a link to the schematic it would make things much easier.
Old 28th May 2011, 11:12 PM   #3
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

The tube solid state hybrid is sometimes referred to as a Graetz bridge but this actually refers to the four diode topology in general. In this case two of the diodes are solid state and the tube rectifier encompasses the other two..

One potential concern is that tube rectifiers have substantial forward drop compared to soiled state devices resulting in rather lower B+ which in the case of a 5U4 might be as much as 15 - 20V lower (or more) depending on load current. My estimate of drop is based on what I suspect is a fairly modest current draw of a 100mA or so. The 5AR4 might do a little better than this, but at modest currents possibly not.