Physical Tube Diagnosis? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th May 2011, 02:33 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Physical Tube Diagnosis?

I am selling all these old vacuum tubes. Most are obviously unused, and have never been taken from their box.

Until I sell a few more items, I am without a way to test these tubes.

My wondering is to whether there is any way at all to look at a vacuum tube and know that it is shot.

I admit, I am new to this field and don't have much in the way of technical experience. Some of the tubes sound as if a filament or something is loose inside of the glass, I don't know if this means it is ruined or not. Others may has a milky appearance that can be wiped clean. Others seem to have a bit of moisture on the outside of the glass.

If there are any physically apparent characteristics that can be used to indicate life or death in the tube, I would be fascinated and very pleased to know!

Thanks,
Old 19th May 2011, 02:56 PM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

If the getter has gone white, the tube is bad. otherwise, the only way to know good or bad is to test them electrically. There's lots of folklore out there about visual inspection, but don't believe any of it.
Old 19th May 2011, 02:59 PM   #3
TheGimp is offline TheGimp  United States
diyAudio Member

Indicators of used tubes include staining of the internal glass with grey/brown clear deposites in line with openings in the plate of the tube (not to be confused with getter flash). Some tubes are burned in at the factory and will exhibit this even when NOS.