TUBELAB SIMPLE SE - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th April 2011, 06:03 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default TUBELAB SIMPLE SE

Good afternoon
Im a newbie and in the process of ordering all parts for the tubelab simple se
Can someone suggest what choke value i should order and aux CAP.

Thanks
Robert
Old 25th April 2011, 06:16 PM   #2
lineup is offline lineup  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Doesn't it show on the schematic, here:
Simple SE schematic
Old 25th April 2011, 06:20 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

There is a specific forum for questions regarding the Tubelab products:

Tubelab - diyAudio
Old 25th April 2011, 06:42 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

It looks like a choke rated for 100mA with a DCR of less than 150 ohms would be fine.
Old 26th April 2011, 12:17 AM   #5
diyAudio Member

Just about any choke that can handle 150 mA or more will work. Aim for 5 to 10 Hy and a DC resistance between 100 and 250 ohms. I used a 1 Hy choke with 60 ohms of DC resistance in one of my amps because I didn't have space for a bigger choke. It still works better than a resistor.

The aux cap should be a motor run (NOT motor start) cap. Motor run caps are made for a very low ESR and work synergistically with the electrolytic to form a very good low cost solution. These are usually rated in AC volts and should be 370 VAC or higher. Any capacitance value from 40 uF to 100 uF will work. I usually shop for 80 or 100 uF motor runs on Ebay and have found them for $15 to $20.
Old 14th May 2011, 02:02 PM   #6
diyAudio Member

Default Boutique caps for SSE?

I built several of these amps and they sound great.