• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Power Transfomer For Valve Amp Question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey,

I got a 'Mains Transformer' for a Valve amp project I am working on from ebay, but I have little knowledge of testing mains transformers and was wondering if any of you can make sense of this Power Transformer for me

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The writing on it is:
0 120 0 120
ANGLIA A53882
35 0 35

Apparently this transformer came from a 100w valve Sound city amp.
I need the outputs for this amp: Marshall JMP 2204

I was planning on making the 50w version as I have little money for all the valves and this is just a project of mine

Many Thanks!

Yea, Dont think I said it was an output transformer, Sorry if I did!
I got slightly confused as the post by hidnplayr says about the 'output stage' But still...
Thats the only writing on the entire Transformer... I just need it for the Power Transformer in the Schematic.

I thought The power Transformer was meant to output a few hundred volts, something like 400... So I need to test it if the writing doesnt tell me what it outputs. I was a bit afraid to just wack 240 volts straight through it though!

Hi there,

no need for testing, the writing tells very clearly what will come out:

If you put in 120V (primaries parallel) or 240V (primaries in series) it will put out 70V center-tapped on the secondaries.

I think there's not much use for 70V in tube audio, except for a negative bias supply perhaps...

Greetings,
Andreas

You cant use this transformer for a tube output stage.