• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

KTA-HiFi ST-70 pcb or marantz 8b. HiFi build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I realize that being a newbie my first post was quite generic in my question of amp suggestions. So iv done a little reasearch and have decided id like to attempt to build an amp from the marantz 8b schematic or one from the kta- hifi pcb. I like the idea of building from a pcb but iv heard the st-70 is a little lacking in sound quality. Although parts wouldn't be such an issue. As far as the 8b gose I guess my question is.. am I going to be hard to find the parts I need? I hear that the 8b has excellent sound.
Any help is apreciated. Thanks, paul

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Are you planning to build an ST-70 type amp using chassis and transformers from someone like dynakit? If not there are certainly other transformers that are significantly better performers than the stock Dynaco transformers.
In triode connection though they are surprisingly decent performers, and the amplifier sounds quite nice.

The parts required for the driver board are readily available from Mouser, Digikey, and Michael Percy audio consultant. I recommend metal film resistors and good coupling caps. (Clarity ESA, REL PPFX or better, etc.)

Power supply improvements are always worthwhile as well.

Yeah, I'm the guy behind KTA. (The board is licensed to Geek who currently offers it.)

Kevin,