Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th February 2011, 08:58 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Rectifier tube blows

Hi!
Im quite new to troubleshooting of amps (though know the dangers and how to deload capacitors) and would need some help if I could solve the problem myself (and maybe learn something new!)
I have Yamamoto a08s and the rectifier tube had some electric lightning inside. At that time I didn't know much about these electronics, just thought that the tube needed to be changed. I remember to checked that the ampere meter at the deck showed 0. Every one of the tubes were glowing normally.

After changing the tube the electric lightnings started again. I opened the chassis and saw the diodes blowen (check the drawing). After changing the diodes they soon blowed again - and now it's time to think before doing anything else..

I measured every resistor and they seem to be fine. Also all the capacitors seem to increase their resistance as should when measured with a basic voltage meter. The rectifier tubes filament voltage is about 5.2V and the other pins measure 350V.
I would really appreciate if someone gave me tips what to measure/try to change next (and sorry for my bad English!)

Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by tovaskai; 13th February 2011 at 09:01 AM.
Old 13th February 2011, 09:57 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

What's the capacitance of the first cap after the rectifier? If it's too large, the PS might be drawing too much current thru the rectifier, thus blowing it. Especially since you seem to be operating at the max rated voltage of the 80.
Old 13th February 2011, 01:22 PM   #3
Banned