Help modify 6H30 Mu-follower stage - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th February 2011, 07:22 PM   #1
RollE2k is offline RollE2k  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default Help modify 6H30 Mu-follower stage

Modifying 6H30 Mu-follower line-stage.

I have a mu-follower line stage that (unfortianly) is single ended. I have been thinking about buying a Pass Labs X250 power-amp, which i was going to run together with this tube-pre.
The pass labs does only have 11k input impedance, so i thought i would try to lower the output impedance on the linestage i have today.
I'm quite new to modifying / building stuff myself so i have tried to understand how everything works to get lower Z-out, and better linearity of the tubes.

Today the amplifier looks like this:
http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/4094/6h30orig.jpg
The tubes are running at ~60V and the bias is -4.2v (~3mA)

And i wouldn't want to modify/Change the PSU, so my question is. would it be possible to change the cathode resistors and the "middle" resistor to the following values?
http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/2842/6h30mod.jpg

This would make the tubes run at 75V and biased at approx -3.7v (~9mA)

And if i have understand it right, the tube curves - Tube Tester Files - 6N30P - 6H30
If running at around 8mV the Rp(Ra?) would be around 1.8K instead of approx 3.4K when running 3mA.
and as i have understand it, the Ra/Ra is directly related to output impedance, and this would make Z-out ~123ohm?
What would be negativ by doing this?!

Any help will be appreciated, since i'm really a noob on this. thanks!
Old 4th February 2011, 07:38 PM   #2
diyAudio Member