6p14p(EL84) SE with 6n6p build jurnal - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st February 2011, 10:28 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Talking 6p14p(EL84) SE with 6n6p build jurnal

Ok so i got my hands on a few russians:
-4x 6p14p
-1x 6n6p
-1x 6n2p-ev

I'm new to this field. I do not have much experience with electronics so i will need some help.

First step is obvious....chosing a schematic:

Right now i have my eye on this schematic( triode/pentode operating mode)

Click the image to open in full size.

I welcome any sugestion about this schematic or other schematics.
Old 1st February 2011, 11:07 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

I linked someone to that schematic a couple of weeks ago, and it wasn't greeted with much enthusiasm by the regulars on this forum. The schematic is most likely a guitar amp offering high gain...and high distortion.

Alternatives that are much better sounding (apparently; I haven't built either) can be found here:
Simple EL84 poweramp/integrated (push pull, which is no problem since you have 4 6p14p's)
http://www.decware.com/se84cschematic.pdf (single ended triode mode; less power, more expensive output transformer, but I'd prefer to build this one myself)
Old 1st February 2011, 11:59 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Well i can get a ton more 6p14p's...but i'm gonna stick to a SE for the moment. PP will be my next project .
I will read more about the zen project.
Look at this one also. It's made by a guy from my country...and it seems that he knows a few thing about tube amps :P....but looks hard to build...
Attached Images
File Type: gif Schema_ADEVARATA SE EL84.GIF (71.4 KB, 778 views)
Old 1st February 2011, 12:11 PM   #4