• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

"Jonokuchi" - new desktop amp, or "Little red board"?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey everyone,
Pete this tube amp looks great and by all reports sounds great too. I just purchased the red board from Pete a few days ago and while I await it's arrival in Australia I have been doing some research etc.
I have a question regarding the OPT, Pete mentioned that if money was not an object he would have went with the ones from Sowter, I am new to tube amps so this may be an easily answered question. What Sowter transformers would you go with, I have built many amps in the past but no tube amps so these are a little new to me ie the output winding values etc. I thought initially the Sowter 8968 This however could be overkill not really sure.
Will a gain a huge benefit from using the higher quality OPT.
Maybe I should just build the tube amp with the Edcor transformers and maybe switch them out later, that's just doubling the cost though?

Any light on this matter would be great, or perhaps recommendations for other higher quality OPT that will gain performance.

I read that another member had issues with the audible hum in the amp, as I am in Australia and our supply line is different will I experience any greater sources of line hum?

Probably all dumb questions for you tube heads but hey I am only just crossing over to the dark side.

I have found these on eBay in Australia and thought they might do the trick

1 x 5K UL PP 4/8/16 ohm 25 W Output Transformer for Valve tube Amp NEW

Thanks guys and gals

Archie

Last edited: