ECL82 pp guitar amp project - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th January 2011, 06:04 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default ECL82 pp guitar amp project

I have started a project build based on ECL82 tubes. Ive decided to go for a class AB push pull design. This is my first attempt to design my own amp.
I got parts from an old philips radio with a dead transformer and a 8 ohm speaker element that I had laying around.
Now im in the process of rewinding the transformer and designing the amp. I have chosen an ht+ of 250 VDC. The purpose of this amp is to learn about tube amps and get a small rehearsal amp.
The preamp consist of one triode section, and is then followed by a cathodyne phase inverter (the other triode).
The problems that i now am having are the coulings between stages (high-pass filters?), the biasing part of the power stage and the value of the grid-stoppers.

Any ideas, comments or other thoughts?
Old 25th January 2011, 06:33 PM   #2
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member

Read Morgan Jones' book, or see the Valve Wizard website.
Old 25th January 2011, 06:44 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I don't think you'll be happy with your plan, a single ECL82 triode gain stage offers too little gain for a good guitar amp.

Have a look at this: ECL82 PP1

Last edited by leadbelly; 25th January 2011 at 06:49 PM.
Old 25th January 2011, 06:50 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Coupling: use simple 0.1uF 300V or higher MKP caps; upgrade if you see the need to, but there's no reason to spend an arm and a leg at this point. You could also consider DC coupling, but as a first build, I'd stick to using coupling caps.