• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Switching circuit help needed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I have a question: Does anyone know a simple way to wire a circuit so that a SPST switch can interrupt the HT B+ (to act as a standby switch) while simultaniously activating a pilot lamp (kind've like a "standby on" indicator)? The lamp runs on 6.3V so I don't think I can use the HT to light it... Any suggestions? I know a DPDT switch would be ideal but I would really really like to use the SPST I have....

Thanks!

Sch3mat1c said:
Put the neon light (with current-limiting resistor!) across the switch contacts.
Tim

I am not an expert by any means on tubes, so perhaps this is a moot point, but wouldn't this still allow a current of near-normal magnitude to flow through the plate circuit(s) anyway?

Perhaps the additional resistance afforded by the series neon lamp (Vf ~90V) and its current-limiting resistor (~1k/V) would be enough to achieve the desired effect, but I would think the amp would still operate... just not very well.

:confused:

The best way to switch HV on/off is by switching the filament of the rectifying tube. With an SPDT switch you can switch between the filament of the rectifying tube and the lamp. But be very careful, there is dangerous HV on the lamp and switch then! Take care of good isolation! A better way is to use a relay for switching the rectifying tube’s filament, powered from the 6.3V heater supply for the amplifying tubes

If you have silicon rectifiers, use a relay and switch between the relay and the lamp.

Cheers

Hi Frank,