Headwize 6N1P OTL headphone amp having hum - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th January 2011, 02:09 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to mr_push_pull
Default Headwize 6N1P OTL headphone amp having hum

hi everyone

I bought the above amp ready built (schematic here HeadWize - Project: The 6N1P OTL Headphone Amplifier by Bruce Bender). it works fine but has a rather annoying hum that sounds like 50Hz. I'm asking here because I have zero experience with tubed gear and I know that they (tubes) have their specific problems.

Bruce mentions something about hum when the heater supply voltage.is not filtered but at a quick glance mine seems to have about 1800uF (4x470u) of capacitors on it.

any other places where I should investigate? thanks
Old 9th January 2011, 02:51 PM   #2
Stixx is offline Stixx  Germany
I am
diyAudio Member

Hum as you have it most probably comes from a grounding problem... but also depends on how the amp was built. Does it have the same psu like the one in the schematic?
AC for the heaters should be no problem as long as the wires are tightly twisted and routed away from signal wiring... even with AC heaters the amp can be dead quiet. Can you post a picture of the internals?

you can also read about grounding here --> Star Grounding
Old 9th January 2011, 04:16 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stixx View Post
Hum as you have it most probably comes from a grounding problem... but also depends on how the amp was built. Does it have the same psu like the one in the schematic?