Help with stereo tube amp design from parts - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th January 2011, 04:57 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help with stereo tube amp design from parts

Hello all! I'm a beginner, bit off a little too much. I removed the amplifier guts from an old 1961 Phillips reel-to-reel tape recorder. I hacked the wires and now I have three sub assemblies.
Long story short: I have no use for an old tape machine, I am on my way home in a month, can't take the heavy ***** with me, and all I want is to have a tubey headphone amplifier for my notebook with perhaps output for small speakers. And not see an antique go completely in the rubish bin.

Now after disengaging the amp circuits from the tape mechanism, I now have a bunch of hacked wires, daughterboards with big hairy iron transformers, tube sockets, old caps, and audio pots and connectors.

I just made a pile of crap. Some of the circuitry is now not needed, IE circuit to controll volume level tube, junk for the recording/ playback head, selector between PA input/mono/stereo radio. Many tape functions now obsolite.

I have no idea how to make all the sub-asemblies fit back together
and eliminate the unessesary circuits.

I do know I have a surplus of good valuable components to design a new amplifier (and better) stereo amp.

What I want is a tube stereo amp for headphones with jacks for speakers.
I have the headphone jacks that swich off sound to speakers.

I will document everything better for you folks later, but for now
I will give a list of what I can see:

-big power transformer (110-220)