Revising an old tube preamp section: where to get the knowledge? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th December 2010, 05:57 PM   #1
Stabby is offline Stabby  Belgium
diyAudio Member

Default Revising an old tube preamp section: where to get the knowledge?

I have no experience with electronics other than replacing the opamps of a CD-player. Currently I'm restoring a 50-year old electric clavichord. It's mainly replacing mechanical parts, but now I am pretty sure the pre-amp section needs a revision too.

To start off, I know tubes are very dangerous to work with. Is there a detailed tutorial somewhere on how to decharge them?

The pre-amp section involves two tubes: an ECC83 and ECH81. I have no knowledge at all on amplifiers, let alone tube amplifiers. So it looks like I'll need to start building up my knowledge on these too.

Is there a good book to acquire all the necessary knowledge to start revising the amplifier section?

Thanks in advance. I'll put up some pictures soon.
Old 27th December 2010, 06:08 PM   #2
LAJ is offline LAJ  United States
diyAudio Member

I would replace the caps, check the values of the resistors and test the tubes. That shoud pretty well fix it.
Old 27th December 2010, 06:25 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Pics:

http://i.imgur.com/IdDv3.jpg
http://imgur.com/rH3KW.jpg

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAJ View Post
I would replace the caps, check the values of the resistors and test the tubes. That shoud pretty well fix it.
Can I use any capacitor with the same value to replace them? As you can see in the picture they are a lot different (bigger) from today's capacitors.