• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Will This Work? 26 Linestage

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ive never worked with dhts before but thought I would try a fairly simple 26 line stage. Im fairly new to design period so there may be multiple errors here. I would appreciate any comments before I go ahead and attempt this. Will my grid biasing arrangement work? Am I connecting the OT properly based on loading the plate with a CCS? Anything else that jumps out that could be improved?

thanks!

26 ccs line.jpg

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Definitely need to use a cap with the parafeed transformer as you have created a dc short across the 26 otherwise.

I would not recommend 180V based on my experience with the 26, but would recommend up to 150V at 6mA - 7mA.. At higher voltages IMHO they can sound a bit strained and service life isn't that good either.

I prefer fixed bias with these tubes, and have tried all sorts of approaches and prefer conventional grid bias with an input coupling cap. You can use a 9V battery to supply the bias in fact..

Something else to note is that this tube draws appreciable grid current and I would suggest keeping the dc resistance in the grid circuit to no more than 220K..

I'm not sure just how good that little Edcor transformer will be, winding a good 15K transformer is a bit difficult.

In terms of the CCS supply I would think about 225V of raw dc would be enough and would keep the dissipation down.