Will This Work? 26 Linestage - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th December 2010, 05:01 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Will This Work? 26 Linestage

Ive never worked with dhts before but thought I would try a fairly simple 26 line stage. Im fairly new to design period so there may be multiple errors here. I would appreciate any comments before I go ahead and attempt this. Will my grid biasing arrangement work? Am I connecting the OT properly based on loading the plate with a CCS? Anything else that jumps out that could be improved?

thanks!

26 ccs line.jpg
Old 15th December 2010, 05:30 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

That will not work. You need a parafeed cap. (DC block) either between the anode and trafo or between trafo and ground.

A look at the #26 data sheet indicates (IMO) you would be better off with 180 V. on the plate, -14.5 V on the grid, and IB = 6.2 mA. condition set. That gets the load impedance above 2X RP.
Old 15th December 2010, 06:42 PM   #3
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Definitely need to use a cap with the parafeed transformer as you have created a dc short across the 26 otherwise.

I would not recommend 180V based on my experience with the 26, but would recommend up to 150V at 6mA - 7mA.. At higher voltages IMHO they can sound a bit strained and service life isn't that good either.

I prefer fixed bias with these tubes, and have tried all sorts of approaches and prefer conventional grid bias with an input coupling cap. You can use a 9V battery to supply the bias in fact..