• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

SE 2 watt clean amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to tubes. I wonder how good a single ended amplifier can sound. I'm not after golden ear hi-fi performance, but want 2 watts per channel of output before clipping, 40Hz - 15 KHz with less than .5% THD.

The purpose of the amplifier would be to boost the output of headphone devices (Walkman) to drive speakers. Since the devices have their own volume control and other sound controls, The amplifier would not need need any controls, just a power switch.

I would think that a triode tube would have enough gain, but not sure if I have to add some negative feedback.

What do you think?

Of the two suggestions so far, 6V6 will easily produce the power although EL84 has probably more linear triode curves. If you were to use a 5K transformer with EL84-ra~2k- you would have to swing 100V RMS. Is this easy? My 2 cents worth; how about very linear and cheap Russian 6N6P? I mean running both sections in parallel.

Last edited:
Maybe possible operating point for 6N6P; 180V,25 mA per triode section 2.4k primary impedance. Comments anybody? Actually johnr, your requirement for less than 0.5% THD is a bit steep for SE at full power. A 300B would struggle to get this at 2 watts

Last edited:
Of the two suggestions so far, 6V6 will easily produce the power although EL84 has probably more linear triode curves.

The 6V6 family makes a better sounding triode than the 6BQ5/EL84. I'm not the only person who thinks that, ask Poindexter. The Russian 6П15П (6p15p), AKA SV83, makes a nice triode too.