tubelabSE with 300b - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th December 2010, 03:12 PM   #1
Green77 is offline Green77  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default tubelabSE with 300b

Hi all!

Thinking of building a TubelabSE with 300 tubes.
Have a few questions

1. Can i drive the amp to max with only my cd connected? 2V max output..

2. Is 90dB speakers ok with this amp?

Thanks // Daniel
Old 9th December 2010, 04:09 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Most CD players will drive the Tubelab SE into clipping at full volume. I have a few CD's that were mastered at a low level so they don't clip the amp at full volume, but are still plenty loud.

I use 87db speakers on mine. They will not get "rock concert" loud but are plenty loud in a small 3 meter by 4 meter room. My wife is always yelling for me to turn it down. I am building some 96 db horns to get louder!
Old 9th December 2010, 04:18 PM   #3
kmtang is offline kmtang  Canada
diyAudio Member

I am having trouble with my wife and daughter yelling at me - turn it down... with my 1.5W 45 tube amp. My Tannoy speaker is only 91dB one.

Surely it is better to use large and efficient speaker to get all the juicy from the 300B.

Johnny
Old 9th December 2010, 04:22 PM   #4
Yvesm is offline Yvesm  France
diyAudio Member

As a rule of thumb, use +10dB for WEG (Wife Ears Gain)
Old 9th December 2010, 04:47 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

I think hers are +10db as you suggest, but the Old Husband Factor is about -10db for a 20db delta.
Old 9th December 2010, 05:31 PM   #6
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubelab.com View Post