• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Hum Ho

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Newbie here. Be gentle.

I have done a Search and looked through some threads, but it seems that these amps commonly making a humming sound and there are several potential causes. I would like to benefit from the findings and opinions of you guys.

My Yaqin MC100B now makes an unacceptable hum. Both channels. The hum volume increases as the volume pot is turned. Low hum. Not a buzz. It hums on every channel into which a device is plugged, but does not hum when the input selector is turned to a position where no device is connected. When the input selector is turned to a position where a device is connected, the hum occurs and it makes no difference whether or how much input signal is entering. In other words, if a device is turned to "mute," the hum is unchanged.

This amp did not hum a week ago. Two changes I have made that could be affecting this behavior are: