Tube PS question: Acceptable ripple

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been working on a 6D22S-rectified PS (for a 6C33C PP) in PSUDII for a couple of weeks, and have managed to get the voltage ripple down to ~1.6mV, but not lower (at least not without voltage and current warnings). Is this generally considered "acceptable", or should I continue working on it? I've been beating my head against a wall trying to get it flat - then realized that it would be a good idea to ask here before putting any more time into this...:eek:

This is my first attempt at designing a PS from scratch; I'd like to get it right.

Thanks, folks.

Hello Guiseppe,
Tell us more!
What do you have going; capacitor, resistor, choke? Go too far past a Pi filter and start adding much resistance you get better ripple rejection at the expense of greater total impedance. Your power supply starts getting soft and acts like an unknown plate resistor.
DT
All just for Fun!

Ripple is better expressed relative to supply voltage then it can be related to the supply rejection of the amplifier that it is powering. Assuming a 400V supply the ripple is -108 db With an amplifier of 60db or better supply rejection I would be quite happy with a full load ripple of -40db as this would give 100db or better signal to ripple at full power. Your application may differ so it pays to define your goals everything is a compromise.

DT:
Schem attached. Couple of notes: R1 is a NTC thermistor (R at 25ºC=200Ω; R at Current=5.001Ω; max current 500mA); I'd prefer to have it on the 0V leg (per advice received here), but PSUD won't allow it. Choke is a Hammond 193N (3H, 500mA). The power trafo is 350V/500mA. The PS will be supplying one 6C33C at 200-225V, 400mA max.

Not sure if this is gonna work or not. I'm concerned about the max current at the choke. Any thoughts?