• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Tube Longevity

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to tubes/valves and don't have a "feel" for this question. I only remember our old RCA BW TV back in the 50's. Seems it had an insatiable appetite for tubes, at least the repairman was out at our house quit regularly. I have a few restorations under my belt now. My latest one is a 1962 AMI stereo jukebox amplifier. It sounds so good, I promoted it to HiFi service in my living room. Between TV and music, I estimate this amp will be running 14 hours a day. The tube complement is 5U4, 12AU7s and P-P 6973s in the outputs. How often will I be replacing tubes in this amp? The Russians are still making the 6973, but for how long? I'd like to stock up on spares while these tubes are still available, but how many will I need?

Bobby Dipole

The AMI Jukebox amp should be pretty easy on tubes.
Tube longevity depends on how hard the tubes are pushed. Many of the 50's TV sets pushed the tubes pretty close to their limits.... shortening their lives.
The Jukebox, on the other hand, was designed to run for extended periods of time without repair.
You should get several years of service befor you'll need to replace the output tubes.
The 12AU7's should last much longer.