DIY Tube Mic - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th September 2010, 09:50 AM   #1
imagios is offline imagios  Czech Republic
diyAudio Member

Default DIY Tube Mic

Hello,
after I have done some amps and speakers, I would like to make my first microphone, as Im not an expert in eclectronics I build most of my stuff from kits.
Can any one tell me what to expect from this kit?
DIY Vacuum Tube Condenser Microphone Kit

I will need two mic for stereo recording, mostly it will be pure solo instrument or two instruments, may be instrument + voice. Just for info I will conect the mic to a E-MU 0404 USB card and than to my loptop. I could buy some mic but doing it self is more fun and let say "unique"

What do you think of the kit? There is a 12AX7 tube unfortunately no mentioned which one. I hope its the russian not a China one.
Old 28th September 2010, 11:49 AM   #2
banat is offline banat  Serbia
diyAudio Member

Try this way:OTL

Aproven in praxis and sound good.

For balanced out(XLR) second half of ecc83 tube have to be rewired to form DC coupled Concertina phase Inverter,for Volume You have to use than double 100k Pot.
For even strictly standards You have to use Van Scoyoc phase inverter for balanced(XLR) output stage.

Good Luck
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Condenser Fet Microfone Tube Preamp.jpg (110.1 KB, 400 views)
Old 28th September 2010, 12:26 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

If the output level is too high, you can use a 12AU7 tube.
I've built a similar microphone and used a NOS Telefunken 12AU7 tube rather than the supplied (chinese) 12AX7.
The Telefunken tube made all the difference in the world.
Good luck with the project.