DIY Tube Mic

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
after I have done some amps and speakers, I would like to make my first microphone, as Im not an expert in eclectronics I build most of my stuff from kits.
Can any one tell me what to expect from this kit?
DIY Vacuum Tube Condenser Microphone Kit

I will need two mic for stereo recording, mostly it will be pure solo instrument or two instruments, may be instrument + voice. Just for info I will conect the mic to a E-MU 0404 USB card and than to my loptop. I could buy some mic but doing it self is more fun and let say "unique"

What do you think of the kit? There is a 12AX7 tube unfortunately no mentioned which one. I hope its the russian not a China one.

Try this way:OTL

Aproven in praxis and sound good.

For balanced out(XLR) second half of ecc83 tube have to be rewired to form DC coupled Concertina phase Inverter,for Volume You have to use than double 100k Pot.
For even strictly standards You have to use Van Scoyoc phase inverter for balanced(XLR) output stage.

Good Luck

Attachments

• Condenser Fet Microfone Tube Preamp.jpg
    Condenser Fet Microfone Tube Preamp.jpg
    110.1 KB · Views: 516
I think I'd be inclined to cut R7 by a factor of two, parallel the plates, grids and cathodes, and get lower noise and better output capability with that kit.

Tubes are cheap enough that you can change whatever you use as there are only one tube per mic.

The kit is basically a knocked-down unfinished $200 Chinese tube mic.

Your E-MU 0404 has line inputs. You'll need a mic preamp between the mic and 0404 if you use a standard tube condenser microphone circuit, including the kit mic circuit.

There is a lot of DIY mic and mic pre action on Prodigy Pro DIY:

Meta-Meta: Look here for overview..