• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Which pentode for input?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone, a forum newbie here.

I've been designing an EL34 SIPP-amp, and since I've zero experience on the sound of small signal pentodes, plus I need ample gain and swing, I decided to try pentode input just for the fun of it. Now I'd like to hear your opinions on which one to use: I have loads of E83F, EF184, E180F and E810F laying around. Which one of these would be the best? I'm looking for Av round 50 and a swing of 140Vpp from a 300 V B+.

I already was given a strong opinion in favor of the E83F by a person much wiser than me, and have drawn a circuit for that, but I'm still open for suggestions.

If the E83F is anything like the EF83 then it is variable-mu so will give you lots of second-order distortion with anything other than a very small input.

A pentode is likely to give you too much gain. If you reduce the load resistor to reduce the gain then you may have insufficient swing.

The valves you have listed are quite different from each other, as they are intended for different purposes.

If the E83F is anything like the EF83 then it is variable-mu so will give you lots of second-order distortion with anything other than a very small input.

It isn't. Even though for example the National Valve Museum website quotes it as a special quality EF83, it is a sharp cutoff pentode (this from the datasheets).

A pentode is likely to give you too much gain. If you reduce the load resistor to reduce the gain then you may have insufficient swing.

The valves you have listed are quite different from each other, as they are intended for different purposes.