• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

C3g:GM70:GM70 schematic advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
attached is my schematic. im not good with my calculations. advice needed for my schematic designs and component values. Thank you!

B1+ = 280V
B2+ = 800V

interstage driving 1st GM70 = 3:1
interstage driving 2nd GM70 = 1:1

Attachments

• full.gif
    full.gif
    8.3 KB · Views: 1,078
Ex-Moderator R.I.P.
Joined 2005
being a 3 stage design, is there any sense in the GM70 driver

GM70 should be easy to drive, thus a 2stage design ought to be possible

maybe first stage and its interstage trafo could easily be replaced by a line driver trafo with gain
and being SE, the GM70 driver intertage could be coupled for gain as well

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Where people get the idea that the GM70 is particularly easy to drive I'll never know, it's not really - at least if done properly.. I'm not a big fan of the quasi-Sakuma approach and recommend ditching the driver GM70 - I'm not sure what it brings you other than some theoretical distortion canceling. Better I think to make things as linear as possible on a stage by stage basis.

You can use a single stage driver based on such tubes as the D3A (the choice I made in my GM70 project), 7788 or C3G.. Choke, transformer or CCS coupling are all options.

The GM70 requires 3A @ 20V for filament heating, not to mention north of 100W plate dissipation in most cases, and I can't imagine using more than one of these per channel in an SE amp. Depending on operating conditions chosen, 20 - 25W is achievable with a single stage driver and the GM70 running in class A1.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member