• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Dead Time - Correcting for it

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a relative newbie to circuit design and am trying to explain them to my readers in a way that is not too complex to understand. Attached is a schematic of a push-pull input stage with phase inverter. Is this diagram accurate as to the signal path outlines? Since half the signal has to pass through an additional tube, it is delayed relative to the other half, and this is called the dead time? Is there a way of correcting for this in an amplifier in some other part of the circuit?

Attachments

• push-pull-input-stage-with-phase-inverter-tubes-numbered-and-with-arrows.gif
    push-pull-input-stage-with-phase-inverter-tubes-numbered-and-with-arrows.gif
    28.6 KB · Views: 318
I am a relative newbie to circuit design and am trying to explain them to my readers in a way that is not too complex to understand. Attached is a schematic of a push-pull input stage with phase inverter. Is this diagram accurate as to the signal path outlines? Since half the signal has to pass through an additional tube, it is delayed relative to the other half, and this is called the dead time? Is there a way of correcting for this in an amplifier in some other part of the circuit?

"trying to explain them to my readers"
:confused:

How are you going to explain circuits to your readers if you don't understand them yourself?

I recommend you educate yourself thoroughly before trying to explain this to "readers". You are not off to a good start with the concepts and diagram you're presenting so far. (and no simple correction or explanation is going to put you on track)