• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Which RCA 2A3 to buy?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Being a tube newbie, I have no information to pull from. I just see some of these pull in exscess of $200 per tube while others run less than $100 per pair. So, somebody thinks there is a difference. I'm just trying to find out which are considered better and why.

I'm in the market for a set of 2A3 for a direct coupled 2A3 amp I'm building. I realize there is a large gap between a 1943 RCA single plate and a 2003 TJ Mesh. I'm soaking it all in like a sponge.

Wardsweb said:
Being a tube newbie, I have no information to pull from. I just see some of these pull in excess of $200 per tube while others run less than $100 per pair. So, somebody thinks there is a difference.

Yes, and they probably have as much info as you do. Don't let price alone dictate your tube purchases. By that logic the best sounding amp would be made entirely of circa 1916 "audion" tubes, with voltage gains of 2, and 29% distortion. ;)
IMO, no tube out there has specifications worth $200.

diyAudio Senior Member
Joined 2002
2A3

Hi,

It seems that the general consensus amongs die hard tubelovers is that the single plate versions are the ones to go for.

If you can still find some that is. Most of what passed through my hands ended up in Japan and Taiwan where they seem to be highly sought after.

I sold a pair of 2A3Ws (593x? something) recently and compared to what came standard with that particular amp, they sounded much better according to the customer.

If they're worth the extra expense is up to you of course.