• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Identification of unknown output transformer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

I'm completely new to tubes really but have been reading a bit and thought I'd attempt to build a guitar amplifier using salvaged parts from an amplifier that my flatmate bought from a garage sale. It was a stereo amp (Fountain, NZ's finest) but has had one output transformer removed. The remaining output transformer is very bulky (good thing?) so I'm trying to identify which lead is which but using Morgan Jones' method the numbers do not crunch. It has a total of 10 leads, 4 on one side and 6 on the other (not necessarily primary and secondary I guess). I'm fairly certain it's a push pull due to the amp topology and number of leads. The impedances are as follows:

Six wire side -
Brown/orange = 4.4R
Brown/green = 2.2R
Orange/green = 2.2R
Blue/yellow = 1R
Blue/black = 1.4R
Black/yellow = 1.6R

Four wire side -
Blue/red = 172R
Black/yellow = 153.9R

All other impedances measure infinite on my multimeter (cheap POS which measures 0.1-0.5 when leads are connected together anyway). You would think that maybe green is center tap with orange and brown being the anodes but the impedances are far too low. Anyone have any ideas?

Images of trans:

ImageShack Album - 2 images

Attachments

• DSC00067.jpg
    DSC00067.jpg
    414.5 KB · Views: 394
To me it looks like there are 5 wires on one side,with 6 on the other. The higher resistance windings will be the primary,and the low resistance windings will be the secondary/secondaries.

It would seem that the side with 5 wires is the primary,complete with UL taps..But that's only an assumption on my part.