Best Possible Tube Headphone Amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th July 2010, 08:27 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Best Possible Tube Headphone Amp

Hello All,

I have a pair of 880dt Beyers that I rewired and have measured at 275 Ohms. I have built many solid state amps in order to drive my phones. They have all been portable amps and are thus not the BEST possible sound I can get. I have settled on tube amps as the way to get the musical bliss that we are all seeking (please correct me if this information is not correct). I have plenty of experience with electronics and have been building Tesla Coils for years (so the high voltages of tubes aren't gonna phase me), but Tubes are a new frontier for me. So I please ask for your patience and understanding.

With all of that said - Here is what I want to achieve.

I want to build the best possible headphone amplifier and I'm willing to pay for it. I do not want to compromise any parts. (however, if one part is gonna run me $600 and there is a $120 version that is REALLY REALLY close to being as sexy - please let me know). Otherwise I'm looking for the wisdom and experience that you guys can offer.

Please don't hold back.

Graham
Old 4th July 2010, 09:51 PM   #2
Gluca is offline Gluca  Italy
diyAudio Member

Graham

this is my take on headphone amp for BD. I own and enjoy a DT990 (600ohm) but you can use this amp to drive the lower impedance of yours

Click the image to open in full size.