cathode follower tube buffer using 6n6p - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th June 2010, 02:23 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default cathode follower tube buffer using 6n6p

I have little experience with tube amps (built 1 spud) and have 8 Russian 6n6p tubes. Im building a preamp and would like to use the tubes as a buffer for the output to lower the impedance after the pot.

Is there a simple schematic someone has for this using a cathode buffer with 1 tube? Im in the USA so I was thinking of just getting 2 6.3vac transformers and running 1 to the wall to step down to 6.3, then connect the other one to step it back to 120vac and use a full bridge rec to convert to 170vdc.

Can i just copy Lamps version that he uses for his dac's?
Old 24th June 2010, 09:56 PM   #2
Arnulf is offline Arnulf  Europe
diyAudio Member

Read: The Valve Wizard -Cathode Follower

And yes, your transformer arrangement is sound.
mod verb, transitive /mod/ to state that one is utterly clueless about the operation of device to be "modded" and into "fixing" things that are not broken; "My new amplifier sounds great so I want to mod it."
Old 25th June 2010, 01:12 AM   #3
Gordy is offline Gordy  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightanole View Post
Is there a simple schematic someone has for this using a cathode buffer with 1 tube?
Consider the DC coupled follower designed and documented by forum member SY. It's called Heretic: A Heretical Unity gain line stage

Quote:
Can i just copy Lamps version that he uses for his dac's?
You mean this? Preamplifier_with_HEAD

You can adapt it, but the performance may be mediocre.