• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6bg6 and 8k opt power amp project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi
I am a newbie who is getting brave to build a first tube power amp.
I've been reading some posts about 6bg6/ga tubes with much interest. And I decided to build a power amp with these tubes. And I just ordered a few of them. I do have a pair of opt that are around 8k. Would you point me to some schematics that I could use? I am not looking for a high power. I will be happy with 15-20w. I would like to try triode pp. However, I am very open to your suggestions. I rather have a good sounding amp than to insist on my ignorance. Finally, my speakers are 16ohm and 90+ efficient.

Thank you.

look for 6l6 / 807 / 1625 circuits.

Ping Shoog and Miles for info on 807 circuits - they have done a fair bit with them.

In triode and according to the spec sheet you are stuck with a 350V B+ limit and hence not a lot of grunt, HOWEVER - with TV tubes, the datasheet screen (and in fact any) maximums can often be, ahem, conservatively disregarded.

See tubelab's posts for the bleeding edge of this black art.

Do your OPTs have a 16 ohm tap?

aardvarkash10

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, my Opts have 16 ohm tap. And I've done some researches in the past few weeks and found a couple that looked manageable to me.

First http://hollowstate.netfirms.com/DIY_files/777.gif I do have three questions though.
1. Would this circuit suitable for 6bg6?
2. How can I make it a fixed bias amp?
3. And what are those 2 6GX8 in the circuit? Do I need that?
I know these questions may sound pretty stupid. But that's where I am now as a newbie :D.