Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

PP triode transformer load
PP triode transformer load
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th May 2010, 04:36 PM   #1
Thomasdj is offline Thomasdj  Denmark
diyAudio Member

Default PP triode transformer load

Hi, I'm currently trying to design af push pull triode amp with inspiration from ZVex's IMPamp. That mean that I am using the dual triode 6021 as output tube and LED cathode bias. This is my first time built from scratch and I am trying to figure out what output transformer I need.

I recently bought a pair of OT's rated 5W with a 4ohm secondary and a 10kCT primary winding. I plan to use 8ohm speakers and guees that this will reflect back an 20kCT load.

The sylvania 6021 datasheet shows 165 maximum plate voltage - I plan to use 160V. I've read at valvewizard.co.uk that a blue LED drops 3 voltage at the cathode.

I've attached the plate curves with my load lines - will this setup work or am I pushing the tube to hard?

Best regards

Thomas
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6021Loadline.jpg (181.9 KB, 242 views)
Old 30th May 2010, 04:43 PM   #2
rman is offline rman  Canada
diyAudio Member

Assuming the red line is maximum plate dissipation, I would say back off a bit.

Cheers.
Old 30th May 2010, 04:59 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rman View Post
Assuming the red line is maximum plate dissipation, I would say back off a bit.

Cheers.
Hi rman, thank you for your reply

yeah, the red line is the maximum plate dissipation. I plan to operate the triodes in class A - should I lower the plate voltage?