• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Tube preamp build help-heaters

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys!
Pretty sure this is my first post.
Im building a tube preamp for bass guitar and Ive got it all wired up basically but Im having trouble with the tube heaters/filaments. This is my first attempt at anything with tubes.

I just want to check that I am on the right track. The preamp has two 12ax7's wired in parallel off one dc out, and two 12au7's wired in series, each 12au7 being powered by one dc out, so there is 3 12.6v dc outs on the power supply/rectifier board. For the DC3 out for the 12ax7's, I have two wires coming off the positive, each wire going to pin 4 on the two 12ax7's, i then have a wire connecting pin 4 and 5 together on each 12ax7. I then have two wires running back to negative on the DC3 out. Each negative wire coming from pin 9 of each 12ax7. Is that the right way to do it for parallel 6.3v wiring? The tubes light up nicely exept that I still read 12ish volts, even though the two 12ax7's are running off one 12.6v output. Also the heatsink is getting really really hot, like you can only touch it for a few seconds, is that normal?

Now the 12au7's. These are not meant to be in parallel and are meant to have 12.6v to each tube. So I have two DC 12.6v outputs for each 12au7. On each, I have a wire from positive of one DC output to pin 4, then a wire from pin5 to negative on the DC output. The problem is, they are not glowing barely at all, they get slightly warm aswell as its heatsink.