• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Newbie Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all!
I am a complete newbie to the world of do it yourself electronics, and I have a few basic questions, so bear with me please. I want to build a tube headphone amp to power my Senn HD600's. I have minimal experience building electronics, but I know a very smart person who could help me along the way. Am I crazy to try to enter the world of electronics through amps? Through tubes? Also, are there any kits for newbies like me? Thanks for any and all help that anyone can provide!!
Blake

Hi BlakeB395;

As I type this, I'm listening to my Senn 600's through a homebuilt valve amp. Yes, it's do-able (and worthwhile)!

>>>...Am I crazy to try to enter the world of electronics through amps?...<<<

Not crazy at all. Amplification circuits range in complexity from multistage monsters with nested NFB loops all over the place to simple single ended designs (the simplest being "spud" amps - one gainstage and that's it!). For what it's worth, headphone amps are frequently some of the easiest to build, since they do not introduce the complications that can arise in high output power designs. Headphone amps are also a good starting place, since the cost of parts is less than in full powered amps - thus there is less economic risk attached to the project.

>>>...Through tubes?...<<<