How dangerous is it to build an SET? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th April 2010, 06:24 PM   #1
robertd is offline robertd  United States
diyAudio Member

Default How dangerous is it to build an SET?

I'm writing to get a sense of how dangerous it is (shock) to build an SET power amp? I'm very interested in undertaking this project but will forgo it if shock/electrocute risk is prohibitive.

I have some soldering experience - resistors in my phone pre, driver in a speaker, switch in a pre, but my question is, can I take some reasonable steps so building an SET is a safe project, or will there always be a risk that I do something accidental or stupid and get zapped?

Thanks,

Robert
Old 18th April 2010, 07:02 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi, I don't know if you have seen this "Sticky Thread" at the start of the Tubes / Valves Forum, but there is good info on this there.

Safety Practices, General and Ultra-High Voltage

Building tube amps isn't dangerous, per se, it's the builder's absent mindedness that gets him into trouble and zapped. The best rule to use (it's akward though) is the "one handed rule". When you have the amp powered up and are working on it, you have one hand deep in your pants pocket and only work on the amp with the other hand. This prevents the HV from going from one hand to the other (and through your chest / heart).
Daniel

Last edited by danFrank; 18th April 2010 at 07:07 PM. Reason: missing words
Old 18th April 2010, 07:24 PM   #3
diyAudio Member