4 x EL84 (6BQ5) in Push-Pull - Power Supply - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd April 2010, 02:44 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Unhappy 4 x EL84 (6BQ5) in Push-Pull - Power Supply

Hello all, I'm a relative "newbie" from Australia.

I've been building amps for a few years now - mostly 2 x EL84 in push-pull for 15W guitar amps for myself and a couple of mates. I've come up with a great formula over that time, using 1 x ECC83S (12AX7) and 1 x ECC82 (12AU7) in the pre-amp with a TMB tone-stack. I included Master Volume and Gain controls to provide a bit of extra versatility. I've settled on a bridge rectifier based power supply for the sound I was chasing. I'm pretty happy with the 2 x EL84 power supply I've developed (check out the attachment) - but confused when it comes to adapting something similar to a 4 x EL84 amp. Do I just beef up the VA on the power transformer secondary to 87 (280V @ 310mA? That is, add an extra 65mA each (max) for the 2 extra EL84's or would I also need to beef up the the first stage RC network. If so - any ideas? I'm just trying to make the new version as reliable as the old one. If you'd like to see the 15W power amp or my proposed 30W power amp, I can post those as well.

Sorry to rave on, but any help would be appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf EDLSUP15.pdf (29.5 KB, 440 views)
Old 3rd April 2010, 05:08 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi Eric,