• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

4 x EL84 (6BQ5) in Push-Pull - Power Supply

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all, I'm a relative "newbie" from Australia.

I've been building amps for a few years now - mostly 2 x EL84 in push-pull for 15W guitar amps for myself and a couple of mates. I've come up with a great formula over that time, using 1 x ECC83S (12AX7) and 1 x ECC82 (12AU7) in the pre-amp with a TMB tone-stack. I included Master Volume and Gain controls to provide a bit of extra versatility. I've settled on a bridge rectifier based power supply for the sound I was chasing. I'm pretty happy with the 2 x EL84 power supply I've developed (check out the attachment) - but confused when it comes to adapting something similar to a 4 x EL84 amp. Do I just beef up the VA on the power transformer secondary to 87 (280V @ 310mA? That is, add an extra 65mA each (max) for the 2 extra EL84's or would I also need to beef up the the first stage RC network. If so - any ideas? I'm just trying to make the new version as reliable as the old one. If you'd like to see the 15W power amp or my proposed 30W power amp, I can post those as well.

Sorry to rave on, but any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• EDLSUP15.pdf
    29.5 KB · Views: 723
Hi Eric,