• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

El Cheapo ok for a first build?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've read many (but not all) of the 67 pages on the El Cheapo at Audiophiletalk. It seems like an excellent amp and not too complicated, but I am totally new to this- is it too big of a bite? I like that there is so much interest in it, and the parts kits from Jim McShane makes it appealing too.

Actually for a first first build I will probably do a phono preamp, but would like to have a larger project on hand for when I'm overloaded with work and need to procrastinate ;).

The name itself has me sold on it.

Big John,

I am currently nearing completion of my first amp, and it is indeed the El Cheapo. It has not been extremely difficult, just time consuming. I hadn't played with electronics for a good 15 years, so a lot of this has been a learning experience.

Good luck with your choice!

I went with the kit from Jim McShane, as I had some concern about being able to pick out the right kind of resistors and capacitors from Mouser or DigiKey.

All of my iron came from Allied Electronics, with the exception of the OPTs, which came from TriodeElectronics. I opted for the 'upgraded' Z565 transformers.

All this talk.. now I just want to go home and finish the thing!

I built it and it was fairly straightforward with a good sound. Also lots of NOS parts to swap and change- there are loads of cheap 6AQ5 / 6V6 / 7C5 available.

If you can, get ultralinear output transformers, that way you can experiment between triode, ultralinear and pentode modes.

John,