diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubes / Valves (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/)
-   -   Leak stereo 20 modification (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/162970-leak-stereo-20-modification.html)

Gudmund 11th March 2010 08:05 AM

Leak stereo 20 modification

Have just bought a Leak Stereo 20 and a Varislope stereo preamp on Ebay just like the guy here where I found some pictures:
leakstereo20

I am new in valve business. Which components need to be changed? All - or only capasitors? Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks
Gudmund

SY 11th March 2010 09:31 AM

Depends on your goal.

Restoration? Change out the power supply caps and any other electrolytics. You don't need fancy "audiophile" components, just well-rated 105 degree C electrolytics and decent film-and-foil polypropylene caps.

Performance? Gut and rebuild. Morgan Jones shows a lovely example in his book "Valve Amplifiers." His Bevois Valley circuit drops into that chassis with some minimal metalwork.

Gudmund 11th March 2010 02:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SY (Post 2115052)
Depends on your goal.

Restoration? Change out the power supply caps and any other electrolytics. You don't need fancy "audiophile" components, just well-rated 105 degree C electrolytics and decent film-and-foil polypropylene caps.

Performance? Gut and rebuild. Morgan Jones shows a lovely example in his book "Valve Amplifiers." His Bevois Valley circuit drops into that chassis with some minimal metalwork.

Restoration is the way for me. I would like to hear the amplifier as it was. I will stay with the standard components as you suggested.

Have looked for Morgan Jones. There are more than one edition. - Will have to learn more before I try to change the circuit.

Have looked for replacement tubes - EL84 /ECC83. Value for money - which type shall I buy? Russian?

Thanks
Gudmund

adamus 11th March 2010 02:37 PM

6p14p - ev... lovely

Gudmund 11th March 2010 03:17 PM

Quote: