From stereo to monoblocks - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th June 2003, 01:20 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question From stereo to monoblocks

Hi all,

I have a question:

If i have a stereo design, i.e a common power supply, and i want to configure a new PS, which is identical in design to the current one, but serves only on e channel, so i just cut current rating in half? the voltages don't change so, as far as i understand (and i'm a novice), the only thing that'll change is how much current is drawn by the circuit: only one channel instead of 2, hence half the current draw.

I'd love to be corrected if i am wrong or if i need to consider other issues before making such a move, i.e filter networks (RC's) etc.

Many thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Guy.
Old 7th June 2003, 03:59 AM   #2
Warp Engineer
On Holiday

It will depend on a variety of factors such as the class of amplifier / how over-rated or under-rated the power supply is etc. Do you have a schematic?
Old 7th June 2003, 04:23 AM   #3
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Default Re: From stereo to monoblocks

Quote:
Originally posted by Guydot
hence half the current draw.
In the simplest of senses yes... but it rarely hurts to have a bigger power supply...

dave
Old 7th June 2003, 01:59 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Hi guys,

I enclose a Jpeg of the circuit and it's PS, i'd appreciate any help you may be able to provide.

Cheers,
Guy.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg amp circuit.jpg (66.5 KB, 550 views)
Old 7th June 2003, 02:02 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Oh and the amp is operating in Class A.