• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

How to self taught about building tube amplifiers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I am new to this forum and this is my first post. I have been a serious audio enthusiast for nearly 30 years and I use solid state amplifiers exclusively. Recently, I am thinking of changing my system to tube amplifiers and would like to DIY my own amplifiers. I have no technique background and would like to know if it is possible to self taught on how to build them. If possible, where and how should I start? Your input is much appreciated.
Thanks,

There is building as in putting parts of a kit together, then there is building as in copying existing designs and then there is building as in designing your own gear from scratch.

Since you mentioned you are unfamiliar with physics (electronics) I second Glowbug's suggestion - grab a kit and a decent book (I haven't read M. Jones' book myself but others recommend it so it must be good) and figure out how your kit works.

Hello.
Welcome to the world of glass envelopes!!!
Suggestions:
1:Read the book already suggested.
2: Get the book: Beginners Guide To Tube Audio Design, Bruce Rozenblit. AND: Audio Reality, Bruce Rozenblit
Beginner's Guide to Tube Audio Design
AUDIO REALITY by Bruce Rozenblit
3: Get this book: Principles of Electron Tubes, Herbert J. Reich.
Technical books online
4: While you are there download anything that "catches your fancy".
5: Then as a GREAT project: DCPP Amp
Searching this forum will get you to that project..
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/151206-posted-new-p-p-power-amp-design.html