Looking for the Ultimate Aikido. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th January 2010, 01:50 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Looking for the Ultimate Aikido.

G'day folks.

I have an interest in acquiring an Aikido line stage for preamp duty.I presently am using a Transcendent Sound Grounded Grid preamp,and I am very happy with it.It is being used in an otherwise entirely Solid State vinyl-based stereo system.

I was considering upgrades to the Grounded Grid.Research on the 'net yielded the result that I would be better-off purchasing an Aikido line stage.

Now here is the reason for my post here;I have no experience of construction(I had the Grouhded Grid constructed for me),nor do I understand the finer points of tube design theory/practice.Thus I will necessarily be getting someone to construct the Aikido for me.I am seeking advice here specifically as to which of the many Aikido options yield the highest sound quality.

I am not looking for an Aikido which will add a 'soothing' or 'warm' sound to the system.Nor do I seek euphonics.I am looking for a line stage which accurately reflects/represents the signal which is being fed into it.A 'High Resolution' quality is what I am seeking.Greater insight,both sonic and artistic,where the software provides both.

Which power supply options also support the best version of the Aikido?

Is there a version of the Aikido which comprehensively outdoes the others based on this criterion?
Old 20th January 2010, 02:37 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by theophile View Post
Looking for the Ultimate...
Take a number, there's a long line for Ultimates already formed up