• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Integrated valve amplifier : to buy or to build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

Its the classic conundrum again when it comes to valve amps: to buy or to build. I am openly seeking advice from all of you who have a lot of experience in this area and can guide me to a successful outcome.

Let me set the scene :
1. I am a newbie when it comes to valve amplifiers in the sense that I have not built one or even dabbled into it. I understand electronics and the working of valves and I can build circuits provided I have a schematic. Its the practical experience in valves that I lack.
2. For the sake of this thread, lets ignore the point about 'oh but building is fun and so organic'. I agree that doing something oneself is much better in some cases because quality can be controlled and there is no one else to blame !

Having said that, this is where I am :
1. To begin with, I was really keen to build a valve amp myself. I surfed numerous websites, postings, circuits, part retailers etc etc into the wee hours of the morning much to my wife's disdain. Most postings start of with good information and then get too technical and deviate from the core objective. Basically, I am struggling to find a simple circuit for an "integrated valve amplifier (class A or push pull) of more than 20W RMS" for which I can source all parts locally and for a reasonable price (~$450 NZD). I would be more than grateful if I could be proven wrong here.

2. Having struggled with 1, I have now resorted to ebay and am seriously thinking about purchasing one of the below :
a. MENG EL34 based stereo amp
b. Audioromy FU29 based stereo amp